Over-enthusiastic Aussie cricket star Marnus Labuschagne has ignited the debate about one of the most controversial acts in the sport. Credit Card. No Brainer. Join NowMarnus Labuschagne has sparked discussion about the act of “celebrappealing”, where a bowler celebrates a wicket before acknowledging the umpire’s decision. Tasmania was 3/280 late on day one of Queensland’s Sheffield Shieldclashedh at Karen Rolton Oval when Labuschagne thought he had mustered a breakthrough. Watch of the 21/22 Marsh One-Day Cup Live & Free on Kayo Freebies. No
The leg-spinner’s full delivery struck Tassie batter Lawrence Neil-Smith on the front pad, and he immediately sprinted towards the slip cordon with both You’re more than welcome to appeal but don’t celebrate. Turn around and ask the question. It’s pitched outside leg stump. A bit cheeky.”. It was not until he was near Neil-Smith that Labuschagne spun around to appeal, but the umpire remained unmoved at the non-striker’s end. “He wasn’t appealing; he was celebrating, which would annoy the umpire,” the commentator said. “No Marnus, it’s not out.
Replays suggested the ball had pitched outside the line of the leg stump. In the Laws of Cricket, “appealing excessively” is considered a “Level 1” offense. Labuschagne is known for his giddy enthusiasm on the cricket field – which Australian legend infamously called “annoying” earlier this year –. Still, several cricket pundits took issue with his behavior on Thursday, arguing it was disrespectful towards the umpire. The Australian’s Peter Lalor called it a “bad look”, while cricket writer on Twitter: “Australia’s next captain?”
Cricket reporter Louis Cameron tweeted: “He probably could have turned around to appeal (and looked a good decision from the ump), but one of Australia‘s best cricketers showing that much enthusiasm for Shield cricket surely a good thing.” Lalor responded: “He shows much enthusiasm for cricket in his kitchen. Enthusiasm isn’t the issue. The issue is respect.” Labuschagne ultimately finished with bowling figures of 0/71 as Tasmania compiled a mammoth total of 6/500 declared.
The Australian No. 3 batter has already developed a reputation for attempting the “celeb appeal”, with an almost identical incident occurring 12 months ago. Labuschagne received similar criticism back in March when he showed dissent to an umpire’s decision in a Sheffield Shield match against Tasmania. The Queenslander threw his in disbelief after the referee raised his finger, shaking his head to the sheds. At the time, News Corp cricket writer Robert Craddock believed Labuschagne’s actions could damage his chances of replacing as Australian Test captain. This latest misdemeanor certainly won’t help. During the second innings of this Sheffield Shield match, Labuschagne was bowled by Neil-Smith for 32 after edging a short delivery back onto his stumps. Queensland is 2/122 at the stumps of day two, still trailing Tasmania by 378 runs.